The 88th Oscars last night were the culmination of a year’s worth of fantastic movies. From celebrating actors/actresses, to costume designers and directors, the industry’s top professionals were all in attendance to give recognition to their fellow’s hard work and dedication. However, it is important to remember that not everything making a film great is visual. It is the crashes, the bangs, the sweeping orchestras taking us on an aural journey which submerge us into a plot.

Every year, the list of contenders is a match worth the excitement of a Rocky vs. Apollo fight and this year’s nominees were no exception. From The Martian and Star Wars: The Force Awakens, to The Revenant and Bridge of Spies, the list was the epitome of supreme sound editing and design. However, the stellar winner of the evening was Max Mad: Fury Road. Not only had it been nominated for 10 Oscars, it took both sound design/editing awards with ease. That is thanks to sound mixers, Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo, and sound editors, Mark Mangini and David White, who did a fantastic job bringing the apocalyptic world to life. Filmed primarily in a desert, the sounds of Mad Max were surprisingly inspired by a whale: Moby Dick to be exact. And while many might not have ever thought to connect a giant War Right with an angry, 150-year-old whale, it just goes to show the kind of genius that went into the creation of the film.

But all of these Oscars got us in the mood to look back at some of our favourites over the years. With 88 years to pick from, choosing the best is nearly impossible, but highlighting a few of the memorable ones is a little easier. Take a look for yourself and see if you agree.

Award for Best Sound Editing:

2010 – Inception (Richard King)

2001 – Pearl Harbor (George Watters II and Christopher Boyes)

1993 – Jurassic Park (Gary Rydstrom and Richard Hymns)

1985 – Aliens (Don Sharpe)

1982 – E.T. (Ben Burtt and Richard L. Anderson)

1964 – Goldfinger (Norman Wanstall)

Award for Best Sound Design:

2013 – Gravity (Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, and Chris Munro)

2009 – The Hurt Locker (Paul N. J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett)

2001 – Black Hawk Down (Michael Minkler, Chris Munro, and Myron Nettinga)

1984 – Amadeus (Mark Berger, Tom Scott, Todd Boekelheide, Chris Newman)

1975 – Jaws (Robert Hoyt, Roger Heman, Earl Madery, John Carter)

1953 – From Here to Eternity (John Livadary)

Feel free to post your past favourites in the comments below! We’d love to see which stood out to you.